Sweet Potato Egg Nests with Maple-Bacon & Goat Cheese

IMG_4259

These are the perfect egg recipe for your Christmas morning brunch. Or perhaps you’re more the New Year’s Brunch type. Or possibly Easter brunch is your groove. Or Mother’s Day brunch. Or heck… just have brunch tomorrow.

Or maybe you hate brunch. I don’t understand you, but I know you’re out there. You could just forget about brunch all together and have them for breakfast instead. Or be extra rebellious and have them for dinner like we did yesterday.

In any case, my suggestion is that you try them SOON!

What I’m trying to say is…

Hightail it to the store right now. Sweet potatoes, Goat cheese, Bacon, Maple syrup. There’s your shopping list. You probably already have eggs and butter in the fridge. And that’s really all you need. These aren’t high tech. But they are highly yummy. Don’t check my grammar on that please. Or on any of my writing for that matter.

These come in beautiful little individual servings. Crispy sweet potatoes on the outside, a golden-delicious egg in the center, and a decadent maple-bacon and goat cheese topping. My husband missed this meal and he almost cried when I showed him the pictures. I promised to make them again soon when I’ve recovered from my sweet potato coma. I love ’em but I’ve eaten a whole lot of ’em in the past couple weeks.

You start by peeling your sweet potatoes.

IMG_4131

*A note here. I really dislike peeling. Potatoes, apples, oranges. All of them. Annoying. Not to mention they make a mess of my countertop or my hands. I have have a nifty apple corer-peeler contraption that helps me out with my apple-peeling-problem. That still leaves me with my potato-peeling-problem. The apple contraption won’t work on those. Not that I’ve tried.

Peeling over the trash can is off limits. Whatever I’m peeling occasionally seems to slip out of my hands. By no means am I fishing it out of the diapers and coffee grounds. Three kids, three and under… you do the math with the pull-ups and diapers. Coffee grounds… hey, I need my liquid energy. Peeling over a large bowl would seem the best solution, but that just means another dish to wash. And somehow I get more peels on my countertop than in the bowl anyhow. Some even end up on the floor. After years of dealing with the messy post-peeling clean up, I’ve come up with a solution. If you feel as I do about peeling, you can find that solution HERE. Otherwise, you can read on.

Us perturbed peelers will not disturb your reading any longer.

Years ago I bought this handy machine on clearance. It does your slicing and grating (thick or thin) for you. I haven’t laid eyes on it for at least a year.

I pulled it out, washed it (a bit of dust had collected), and…. LET HER RIP!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“How wonderful that my arm won’t be sore from grating my sweet potatoes!” I thought. My thoughts were interrupted by shreds of sweet potato flying all over the counter and onto the floor. It was kind of a pile I suppose… you can’t really tell the devastation it caused from this picture below.

Okay, so I’m exaggerating a bit, but I thought I had avoided the whole messy counter and floor thing with my peeling solution.

IMG_4146

Pretty orange color though, right? Like totally.

I think I talked like that for reals once. Not now of course.

IMG_4149

I tossed all those lovely grated potatoes onto a clean kitchen towel. No longer clean. Stained a bit orange in fact. I’m no laundry wizard.

The dish towel works great for squeezing out all the excess liquid that’s in those grated potatoes. And there’s a lot! You might be surprised.

IMG_4151

I experimented a bit here. I spread out some of the potatoes on a paper towel-lined sheet pan and patted them with more paper towels to soak up any remaining moisture. Then I stuck the pan in the fridge for 30 minutes or so. The drier the potatoes were, the crispier they became while baking.

And in this case, you want crispy. Not mushy. This is not sweet potato casserole folks.

Once the potatoes were sufficiently dried, into a large bowl they went.

IMG_4152

Then some melted butter…

IMG_4170

Salt and pepper.

IMG_4173

Then into muffin cups sprayed with cooking spray.

IMG_4177 IMG_4179

You might notice you’re not really going for perfection here. Think bird’s nest. Sort of. The birds would probably turn their noses up at these nests, but they worked just fine for my purposes.

While they were baking, I laughed with my girls a bit.

IMG_4158

One of their toys’ batteries were just about dead. The toy was making funny noises instead of doing its regular talking. Think Darth Vader meets R2D2.

I’m surprised that any of these pictures turned out. My hands were a bit shaky from all the laughing.

IMG_4164

We laughed until we couldn’t breathe. I love doing that. I love watching them do that.

I kissed my girlies and proceeded to fry up some bacon! Oh yes. Thick cut please. Nothing else will do here.

I left them stacked and cut them in 1/2-inch chunks. If you put the slices in the freezer for just 10 minutes or so it will make the cutting even easier.

IMG_4182

I love the sound of bacon hitting a hot skillet. Not to mention the smell.

IMG_4183

After a couple of minutes I stirred the bits so they would come apart from one another. Then I created one layer of bacon so they would get nice and browned.

IMG_4189

Then I bent down to kiss my little man. He was entertaining himself nearby.

IMG_4194

I could eat his cheeks! Mmmmm! Mmm! I love him!

After kissing my baby, I checked on my bacon. Once it got pretty browned, in went the maple syrup!

IMG_4198

Oh my.

IMG_4201

Good luck not eating this before you need it for topping the eggs. Good. Luck.

IMG_4208

In fact, I would just plan on making a double batch of the bacon. Snacking is inevitable.

Don’t drain your bacon directly on paper towels by the way. It will stick. Your snacking… ahem… topping will be ruined.

Out came the potato nests and in went the eggs.

IMG_4212

6-8 minutes and the whites were set but the yolks were still runny. Perfect.

IMG_4215

Time for the toppings!

That glorious bacon and crumbled goat cheese….

IMG_4218

A touch of broiling. A bit of cooling. They come out of the tin nice and easy because of the cooking spray.

If a little stays behind in the cup. No worries.

Just wait until you bite into these…. I wish I had one right now. Maybe I could handle some more sweet potatoes after all.

IMG_4238 IMG_4246 IMG_4226

A little closer….

IMG_4227 IMG_4259

Hooray for brunch!

(Or whatever.)

Here’s your printable recipe.

I love this time of year.

Merry Christmas!

love, jenna

I'd love to hear from you! Keep the comments coming.

