Chocolate-Espresso Toffee Cookies

IMG_4542_2

C.H.O.C.O.L.A.T.E.

Prior to being pregnant three times in three in years I really wasn’t a chocolate person. I’m more of a warm apple pie-vanilla ice cream kind o’ girl. I even made it through baby #1 and #2 without craving it. I thought for sure I was just not a chocolate person and it would never change. And I was okay with that.

Then… along came baby #3…. I should have known it was a boy this time around. Everything was different. Including my dessert cravings. When I wanted something sweet, I wanted CHOCOLATE. That pregnancy has come and gone… but my new found love for chocolate has not. It inspired this recipe.

Chocolate lovers… this one is for you.

And for all you non-chocolate and anti-chocolate people out there… I have three words for you:

Never say never.

And for a few more Christmas dessert ideas for bringing or gifting, click HERE.

This recipe starts with… what else??…

IMG_4476

First I microwaved 1 cup of chocolate chips… maybe a slightly heaping cup, but I took care of that on my way to the microwave.

After a short stint in the heat I gave them a stir…

IMG_4477

Everything is better with coffee so… in went 1 tablespoon of espresso powder.

IMG_4478

While the melted chocolate cooled a bit, I moved on to more chocolate.

Cocoa powder this time. Along with flour, baking soda, and a touch of salt.

IMG_4468

Sifted together… beautifully smooth.

IMG_4471

Again, another chocolate element got set aside to wait.

Softened butter and sugar.

IMG_4486

Cream ’em together. Cream ’em good.

IMG_4491

Eggs and vanilla. Pretty.

IMG_4492

And after all that is mixed together… in goes that luscious melted chocolate. You didn’t forget about that did you?

IMG_4497

No going back now… it’s officially a CHOCOLATE recipe.

IMG_4498

Adding the flour in a couple additions thickened the deal.

IMG_4500

And now… for the final “secret” ingredient… TOFFEE.

Maybe I should have called this recipe “Chocolate Coffee Toffee Cookies”… has a nice ring to it. All my titles are working titles anyhow. Feel free to call these what you please.

My Emily Jane calls these “Num num!” Perhaps that was the best name for the recipe. Might get confusing though. She calls a lot of things by that name.

IMG_4508

The toffee bits got folded in… you can’t really see them in this picture below… but they are there… a decadent surprise in the center of these chocolately delights. Yes, that’s right. Chocolately.

IMG_4505

Scoop ’em. Roll ’em. Bake ’em.

IMG_4511

They puff up and look underdone when you pull them out…

IMG_4516

But once they cool they are perfect. Bake them longer if you want them crispy. I like when they’re soft and melt in my mouth, but my hubby prefers the crispier version of just about everything. Especially brownies. Weirdo.

But I know he’s not alone. Why else would they make a brownie pan just for those who like the crispy edges?

I don’t own or need this pan though.

I eat the center, he eats the outside. Ah, I love that man.

IMG_4521_2

Yum. Yum. Yum. Yum. Yum.

IMG_4559_2

IMG_4524_2

Here’s that toffee surprise…

IMG_4542_2

Make ’em.

Gift ’em.

Eat ’em.

LOVE ’em.

Here’s your printable for this recipe.

Merry Christmas!

Love, Jenna

4 thoughts on “Chocolate-Espresso Toffee Cookies

  1. Pingback: Christmas Time is HERE! | Apples to Ziti

  2. Pingback: White Chocolate Pretzel Toffee | Apples to Ziti

  3. Pingback: Toffee-Pecan Brown Sugar Cookie Bites | Apples to Ziti

  4. Pingback: Toffee-Nutella Fudge | Apples to Ziti

I'd love to hear from you! Keep the comments coming.

