Toffee-Pecan Brown Sugar Cookie Bites

IMG_4733_2

Kind of a long title. But you know what you’re getting. Or at least you think you do. These were the recipe I was least excited for… and I liked them best. And they’re the easiest. Well, the fudge was pretty easy but powdered sugar destroys my kitchen. No matter how careful I am, it gets everywhere. EVERYWHERE.

This cookie bite reminds me of my childhood because it is similar to a butter cookie recipe I made a thousand times (or more) with my mama. It came from her Waldorf College cookbook. At one time I had that recipe memorized. I knew it so well that even after not making it for years, I still mostly remember it. I’m not sure if it used baking powder or baking soda or how much. I think it used more flour than I used for my cookies. I know it didn’t use brown sugar. I know it didn’t include toffee or pecans. I know I ate my weight in the dough. Yes, I know… “don’t eat cookie dough”. Too late.

The recipe was simple and delicious. It will always remind me of my childhood. And it inspired this recipe.

If you need some other Christmas dessert ideas for bringing or gifting click HERE.

First I sifted together flour, baking soda, a pinch of salt, and cinnamon.

IMG_4702_2

Then I creamed together my butter and brown sugar.

IMG_4700_2

In went an egg and some vanilla, of course!

IMG_4703_2

When everything was nicely mixed together, I added in my flour mixture slowly and mixed until the dough was just combined.

IMG_4707_2

The topping is what really makes this cookies AWESOME. Pecan and Toffee. Mmmm. MMMM!

Just pulse toffee and pecans in a food processor. I made my own toffee but you can buy it at the store. My version is a bit softer than the store bought kind.

IMG_4709_2

I think this by itself would make an amazing dessert. SOOOOO good.

IMG_4715_2

Now I must apologize for this next part… I either erased the pictures that go with the assembling steps or I never took them to begin with. I honestly can’t remember. I would blame it on ‘pregnancy brain’… but I can’t any longer. Darn.

You spray the cups of a mini muffin tin. Then you fill each of the mini muffin cups with a heaping teaspoon of the dough, pressing it down into each cup so it’s flat on top. You use a slightly heaping half teaspoon to scoop the Toffee-Pecan topping onto each of the cookie bites. Then you bake them for about 9 minutes and…

IMG_4719_2

TA-DA!!

Just let them cool a bit and then loosen them with a knife. Ready!

IMG_4725_2

Wrap them up as gifts or find some little munchkins to share them with.

IMG_4759 copy

IMG_4724_2 IMG_4755

IMG_4736_2

IMG_4740

Yea for sisters!

Yea for cookies!

Yea for Christmas!

Here’s that recipe again.

Merry Christmas!!!

love, jenna

5 thoughts on “Toffee-Pecan Brown Sugar Cookie Bites

  1. Pingback: Caramel-Toffee Cheesecake Bites | Apples to Ziti

  2. Pingback: White Chocolate Pretzel Toffee | Apples to Ziti

  3. Pingback: Chocolate-Espresso Toffee Cookies | Apples to Ziti

  4. Pingback: Toffee-Nutella Fudge | Apples to Ziti

  5. Pingback: MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! | Apples to Ziti

I'd love to hear from you! Keep the comments coming.

