Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins

paleo-raisinIMG_8040

Eat like a caveman!!

A dear friend of mine and her kiddos came over to hang out recently. They implemented the Paleo Diet with their family a while back and, when I knew they were staying for lunch, I thought I’d try my hand at some Paleo recipes!

If you know nothing about the Paleo Diet, it’s basically a high-protein, high-fiber way of eating. Some use it for weight-loss purposes. Some implement it for food allergy/ sensitivity reasons. Go Paleo and you’ll eat a lot of lean meats and fish, fruits, vegetables, and healthy fats. You can eat eggs, nuts, and seeds. You can’t eat any processed foods, wheat/ grains, dairy, legumes (like peanuts and beans), refined sugar, potatoes, salt, and refined vegetable oils (like Canola). It’s actually a very healthy way to eat.

I must say I admire our friends for switching their eating habits. Sure they’d rather be able to eat some of the foods they’ve given up, but they feel much more energetic and healthy than they did before they switched. They know it’s what’s best for them. I’m fairly certain I could never give up pasta. Or bread. Or dairy. Or pasta.

I definitely am not a Paleo-cooking pro. I didn’t even attempt to write my own recipes for making lunch for our friends. So I went recipe hunting online and found a few promising Paleo websites. I haven’t followed them long enough or tried out enough of their recipes to vouch for any of them yet, but I wanted to share a ‘step-by-step’ of one of the recipes I found: Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins from Paleo Newbie. These muffins are full of flavor, moister than ever, and our kiddos devoured them! You can find the recipe HERE. It appears that Trina, the website’s author, aims at providing delicious recipes that stick to the ‘Paleo Rules’ as closely as possible. Check out her site to learn more!

Ready for the ‘Step-by-Step’?

Here goes!

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Start with two cups of Almond Meal/ Flour. The recipe also calls for a small amount of coconut flour, but for the sake of money I just substituted more Almond Flour for the Coconut Flour. It worked great!

paleo-raisinIMG_7915

A tablespoon of cinnamon. Mmmmm. I love the stuff.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

One and a half teaspoons pumpkin pie spice.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Half a teaspoon of baking soda.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

A touch of salt. (Paleo encourages you NOT to use salt. You can add it or not add it. I added it.)

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Give the dry ingredients a good whisk to break up any lumps.Or you can just sift the mixture through a fine mesh sieve if you prefer. I was lazy and went for the whisk.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Now for the wet ingredients! First I added 1/4 cup coconut oil.

Coconut Oil is a little pricey, but it’s used often in Paleo cooking and baking. You can buy coconut oil in a more solid form and just heat it up to achieve this same liquid quality. I believe the solid form is cheaper! And you can buy this item in bulk to save a ton of money. It’s an investment up front, but buying little bottles from the grocery store will break the bank! Or at least it would break mine. I bought the liquified version of the oil from Sprouts (a Farmer’s Market and Grocery Store in one… based here in Arizona). You can read about them HERE. The oil was undoubtedly good quality, but it was $10 for one bottle. YIKES!

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Coconut milk. Mmmmm. This always makes me want curry.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Maple syrup. Mmm. This makes me want pancakes. Or French Toast. Or waffles.

No. I don’t think I would do well on the Paleo Diet.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

3 eggs. My assistant Rachel took care of this one. Notice Emily carefully observing in the background.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Now the wet ingredients need a good whisk. Rachel and I teamed up on this one.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Peel an apple.

paleo-raisinIMG_7985

Core it.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Shred it.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Toss it in! And give it a gentle stir.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Then pour the dry ingredients into the wet.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

And whisk until well mixed.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Finally, stir in your raisins. You’re ready to bake!

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Line a muffin pan with muffin liners. Spray them with cooking spray. (Not sure if this is actually allowed for Paleo cooking?)Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

I used a 1/4 cup dry measurer to scoop out my muffins. It worked perfectly to portion my batter out!Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Bake the muffins at 350°F for 23 minutes (or more). I baked them for 20 (the recipe says 20-23) and I didn’t feel they were done yet.

A little secret: even if you OVER bake these… let’s say for 30 minutes… they will still be MOIST MOIST MOIST! I may have stuck mine back in the oven and forgot about them. That might be the reason I know this little secret.

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

While the muffins are baking, mix together some cinnamon and coconut sugar for topping the muffins. The recipe called for equal parts sugar and cinnamon, but I used two parts sugar to one part cinnamon because I thought it was too cinnamon-y the other way. You can do as you like!

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

When the muffins come out, transfer them to a cooling rack. Sprinkle on the cinnamon-sugar mixture while they’re still warm!

Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins Step-by-Step | ApplestoZiti.com

 

Hopefully my first recipe in the world of Paleo encouraged you to check it out! Whether you want to make it your lifestyle or just use some of the recipes to encourage healthy eating and baking, it’s worth reading about! I know I will be trying more Paleo recipes in the future!

love, Jenna

4 thoughts on “Paleo Cinnamon Raisin Harvest Muffins

  1. These were delicious Jenna! Thanks so much for going the extra mile for us and learning this new “lifestyle” of cooking. If you try some more in the future we do use salt in a lot of our recipes…Just sea salt instead of the normal “table” salt. I’ll have to make these again because Kaiden loved them! (The carrot cake imitation muffins I made for their birthday…not so much. FAIL. I should have made these!) We could partner next time so you don’t have to go out and buy all new ingredients. I have most of the stuff on hand whenever it strikes you to try something Paleo again. I want to try these: http://www.elanaspantry.com/paleo-caramel-brownies/ for a special treat sometime. HUGS

  2. Hi, it’s Trina from Paleo Newbie! Thank you so much for featuring our recipe! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I’m an Italian girl, so you can bet I miss the pasta….I love that you share all varities of recipes on your site. Super cool. Great blog! 😉

    • Hi Trina! I’m so excited that you saw this and commented! I don’t know how you gave up pasta, but looking at your recipes you are more than making up for it! Everything looks delicious. I can’t wait to try more of your recipes! I’m going to try your latest ‘Paleo Ham & Egg Cups’ soon. YUM. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you! Keep the comments coming.

