Chocolate Mug Cake: The solution to all your stress?

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

Praise the Lord for Grandmas!! AMEN???

My grandma Nell tucked this adorable “Chocolate Mug Cake” in with some Easter treats for my girls. The back of it reads “God sends no stress that chocolate and prayer can’t handle.”

Here… I’ll just show you…

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

Although I’ve found that prayer relieves my stress more than anything else ever could, I must admit that sometimes a sweet treat can do wonders for an exhausted spirit. My patience is often stretched to its limits everyday as I care for a 7-month-old and a 3 and 2-year-old who are in need of discipline and teaching. How to listen. How to obey (without defiance and without delay). How to speak kindly. How to not complain (no matter the circumstances). How to not argue. How to share. How to be generous. How to have a good attitude. How to seek God’s help to do all these things and more. AND… to add to that… I myself am still learning all these things on some level. And I hope I always will be as long as I’m living on this earth. I am still learning. I am still being molded. My daughter Rachel said something profound the other day. She said, “But mama… it’s so hard to obey and be kind all the time.” Yes my dear. Yes it is. And it’s stressful, too. Isn’t it?

Your stress may come from raising children. It might arise out of a broken, struggling marriage or relationship. It may originate out of your job. Or lack thereof. It might stem from money. Or lack there of. It might come from you desperately trying to balance work with family and free time. It might come from not being able to keep up with laundry. Or cleaning. Or organizing. It might be there because you can’t seem to sleep. It might arise because you feel lonely. No matter where your stress emanates from, nothing will lift it off your shoulders like a relationship with Jesus Christ will. Not chocolate. Not candy. Not any food. Not any drink. Not any pleasure.

Nonetheless, I hope this little recipe will encourage you as you attempt to find the peace you are looking for.

Let me show you how to make this stress-relieving “Chocolate Mug Cake”.

Ready. Set. DE-STRESS!

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

You don’t need this particular mug to make this cake. Just pull out a mug that is about this size and you’ll be in business. This mug holds 12 ounces of liquid when filled to the brim. You can test out your mug using that as a guide. If you have a different size mug you can probably adjust the microwaving time and it’ll turn out just fine!

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

The recipe starts with 3 tablespoons flour.

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

4 tablespoons granulated sugar.

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

2 tablespoons cocoa powder.

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

A pinch of salt.

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

3 tablespoons oil (I used canola).

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

3 tablespoons milk (I used 2%).

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract. (I put in 1/2 teaspoon. I love this stuff.)

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

One egg.

Try cracking an egg with one hand and taking a non-blurry picture with the other hand. That will NOT help your stress level. Or maybe it would. It made me laugh. Even if you can do it it’s hard to not make your hand look alien-like in the photo.

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

There. The egg looks much prettier without my hand in the photo. Plus it was less stressful to take this picture than the one before when I was trying to crack an egg at the same time. Wish I would have thought of that beforehand.

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

Whisk everything together well. Don’t be alarmed if chocolate splatters everywhere. That just means you are doing it correctly. Besides, we’re going for stress-free here, remember? Don’t stress about the mess. That rhymes!! Haha.

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

Stir in 3 tablespoons semi-sweet chocolate chips. (Or whatever kind you like best. I’m a Ghiradelli Bittersweet girl, but I didn’t have any of those on hand. Off-brand semi-sweet it is!)

I recommend you use a spatula or spoon to really stir around the bottom of the mug… especially the outer edges. After “baking” I found there was some stubborn dry ingredients that didn’t get mixed in because I hadn’t scraped around those edges thoroughly enough. It was still tasty of course, but I thought you should know.

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

Time to bake! Er. Microwave.

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

Two minutes later…

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

The consistency is somewhere between cake and pudding. Or cake and flan. Or…. well…. just make it and you’ll see for yourself! Very moist. Very chocolatey.

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

You probably won’t be able to stop at one bite.

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

I’ll admit there are days when there would not even be time to throw together and microwave this simple cake. Those are the days when it’s handy to have a chocolate or candy stash somewhere on you or in the house. This way you can grab a couple bites as you take a moment to breathe deeply and pray.

And to lock yourself in the bathroom.

Where else can you escape? Even then there are fingers under the door. But perhaps I’m projecting.

I hope you don’t have this happen to you in a job outside the home. If people are sticking their fingers under the stall at your workplace while you take a moment to yourself… I’m gonna say it’s time for a new job.

And, I must share one final thing. Some words. Just in case I’ve not said enough already. These words are not my own. They’re words to a well-known hymn that I often sing to myself when I’m feeling exhausted, stressed, and stretched to my limits. I hope they encourage you. I hope they find a way deep into your heart.

“My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.

I dare not trust the sweetest frame.

But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

On Christ the solid rock I stand, 

all other ground is sinking sand;

all other ground is sinking sand.”

Chocolate Mug Cake | ApplestoZiti.com

Here’s your printable recipe, if needed!

Happy microwaving! And singing!

love, jenna

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Mug Cake: The solution to all your stress?

  1. Pingback: Blackberry Yogurt Parfaits | Apples to Ziti

I'd love to hear from you! Keep the comments coming.

