Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze

Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com

I’ve been meaning to share these Cinnamon Rolls for a long time now. I can’t wait any longer!!!

I’m not really sure what happened to this past week.

Oh my. It’s almost been TWO weeks now. AH!!! How did that happen?!

Easter came and went. We said goodbye to our beloved family from South Dakota. Somehow, without fail, they always have dark, perfect tans. And I am as white as a sheep. Living in Phoenix you’d think I’d be nice and brown…. but no. I’ve been pregnant three times since the end of 2010 and there isn’t much time for laying out. Or I just haven’t made it a priority I suppose. Anyhow. They are tan. I am not. We had so much fun and I already miss them desperately. The good news is we have plans to reunite on their turf in June!! Maybe I’ll be tan by then. (HA!)

I had grand plans of posting throughout last week, but we were house-sitting until the middle of the week. When we did arrive home we found someone had broken in and stolen our ultra-valuable television and two guitars of my husband’s. Actually the TV was worth pretty much nothing compared to what the crooks were likely hoping for. I have no expensive jewelry. And they checked. None of what I do have was taken. We have no cash in the house. And they checked. We had our camera and laptop with us, so they pretty much got the three most expensive items in our house. Honestly, I’d have been more upset if they’d taken my white dishes. Or food processor. And especially my dish washer. Take that…. and I’ll hunt you down. Seriously. Don’t mess with my magical dish washer. Magic I tell you. Anyhow, my week was filled with catching up on bills, mail, police reports, insurance claims, etc. Not fun but necessary.

Now this week is almost over already and I’ve had no time or energy to post again. This week it’s due to one primary factor: POTTY TRAINING. A stubborn one. Not a two-day and you’re done sort of deal (that was my experience with my first child). Nope. My second child is a bit… shall we say… distracted. She forgets. What? I’m wearing panties? Daddy came home on ‘Day 2’ and asked her, “What are you wearing?” She answered, “A bye-per.” Ah-ha! There’s the problem! If she thinks she’s still wearing a diaper, that explains why she’s been making puddles… and piles… all over the place today. Well, just one pile actually. One is enough.

Day 1: Great! Only one accident! This was going to be a cinch!

Day 2: Awful. Terrible. Miserable. (Insert more adjectives similar to these here). Puddles. Pile. More puddles.

Day 3: There is hope!! No accidents! Expect when we were playing outside in the backyard with the hose. But I didn’t really count that one. We were all getting wet anyhow. She probably thought mama wouldn’t even notice. Or she forgot.

Day 4: Pretty good. A puddle outside. One inside. No piles. Lots of successful potty trips! A little 409. Lots of cheering sessions. Lots of impromptu dance parties. Lots of jumping. Lots of giggling!!!

And now that I’ve gone horribly off subject from what the title of this post promises….

LET’S MAKE SOME CINNAMON ROLLS!!

If you have never made cinnamon rolls from scratch you must try it someday. There is nothing like homemade cinnamon rolls from scratch. Nothing.

However, making said rolls requires one thing that many of us are often short on. That’s right… TIME.

So these are not to replace the from scratch rolls. They are just a reality. If you want cinnamon rolls, that is.

Let’s make ’em!

Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com

Place some softened butter in a small bowl and beat it to make it spreadable.

IMG_7055

Break out the store-bought dough. You can use this dough sheet or crescent rolls would work too. Just press the seams together to form one, seamless dough sheet.IMG_7057

Sprinkle a little confectioners’ sugar out on a clean work surface to prevent sticking. This dough sheet seems particularly sticky so keep the confectioners’ sugar handy just in case you need a bit more for your hands or the surface. Or you can use flour for dusting if you prefer. IMG_7060

Cut the dough sheet in half lengthwise, creating two long rectangles.IMG_7063

Divide the softened butter evenly between the two rectangles and spread it out evenly on each. Leave a small border around the edges of each rectangle to give you some room to roll.

IMG_7065

Mix up a little granulated sugar with ground cinnamon. TA-DA! Cinnamon-sugar!! This stuff is good on everything. Especially buttered toast. YUM. Maybe you should make some extra.

IMG_7067

Sprinkle the cinnamon-sugar evenly between the two rectangles.IMG_7070

Starting at the long end, roll up each of the rectangles, pressing gently to seal at the seam. Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com

Cut each of the rolls into 16 equal pieces. Start by cutting the rolls in half. Then in half again. Then in half again. Then in half again. Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com

Place the rolls in the cups of a mini muffin pan to help them keep their shape. Be sure to spray the cups with cooking spray first!

Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com

Bake the rolls at 350°F for 8-12 minutes until they puff up and are just turning golden.

Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com

Meanwhile… Brew some coffee!!

Now, I’m a Starbucks fan. I worked there in college for a couple of years (both in Phoenix and Chicago). I’m an Americano girl all the way! And, I love their petite vanilla bean scones. Mmm! If they ever discontinue them I’ll cry.

Seriously, I will. And now I’m craving one.

BUT… My favorite coffee beans don’t come from Starbucks. They come from Sagebrush Coffee. They do their own roasting. This coffee is OUT OF THIS WORLD! Such wonderful, rich flavor. TRY IT! You’ll be addicted in no time.

Follow Sagebrush Coffee on Facebook or Twitter or Pinterest or other Social Networks to save 20% off your order TODAY! Or join their email list and you’ll get the 20% OFF too! Pair that with FREE SHIPPING on any order $25 or more and you can’t beat the deal you’re getting!

Sagebrush Coffee is not sponsoring this post. I just really love their coffee. I might have been biased when I first tried it because it is owned and operated by my brother-in-law and sister-in-law. However, after trying it, I can honestly say it’s my favorite. TRY IT! 

Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com

And now that I’ve gone off on another tangent…

Let’s make the Coffee Glaze!

Add confectioners’ sugar to a medium bowl.

IMG_8837

Drizzle in some melted butter.

IMG_8841

You can give it a mix at this point… but there’s really no point. It will just be all crumbly.

IMG_8845

Pour in some strong brewed coffee. SAGEBRUSH!! (if you have it) 😉

IMG_8852

Now, with some determination, whisk the glaze until it’s nice and smooth. This will take a couple of minutes by hand. Use a hand-held or stand mixer if you’re in a rush. But a little arm workout never hurt anyone. Plus I was too lazy to pull out the hand mixer, find the beaters, plug it in, etc. I just grabbed a whisk and went to town!Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com

Drizzle the glaze over the rolls while they’re still warm.Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com

Shortcut Coffee-Glazed Cinnamon Roll Perfection.

Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.comShortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.comShortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com

Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.comShortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze | ApplestoZiti.com

Shortcuts rock!

Here’s the printable recipe.

love, jenna

One thought on “Shortcut Mini Cinnamon Rolls with Coffee Glaze

  1. Pingback: Vanilla Bean Banana-Walnut Muffins | Apples to Ziti

I'd love to hear from you! Keep the comments coming.

