Slow-Cooker Mexican Shredded Chicken

Slow-Cooker Mexican Shredded Chicken | Cinco de Mayo Recipes | ApplestoZiti.com

On Cinco de Mayo I posted a Vanilla Bean Banana Muffin recipe that is to die for. But the thing is… banana muffins are not what you would call ‘festive’ for this holiday. Therefore, even though I didn’t have time to get step-by-step photos ready, I thought I should at least post one recipe this week in honor of Cinco de Mayo. {I will try to get a step-by-step for this recipe up soon though!}

On a side note… May 5th, Cinco de Mayo, also happens to be my mother-in-law’s birthday! We celebrated the day before (on Sunday the 4th) with Karoke, Curry, & Cake!

(& ice cream too… but that didn’t start with the “kuh” sound, so I didn’t include it at first.)

Often women tell horrific tales of their mother-in-laws: their criticisms, their expectations, their antics, etcetera. Although I hate to brag… I have no horrific tales. Only wonderful ones! My husband’s parents have only ever made me feel like one of their daughters… one of the family… since even before David were married almost 8 years ago. I’m so thankful for this. My mother-in-law, Kathy, is a faithful, good-humored, kind, generous, energetic, go-with-the-flow gal. She’s beautiful inside and out. We wear the same shoe size, which comes in very handy if you wore heels to her house and you need to borrow a pair of flip flops. Or tennis shoes. Or another pair of heels for that matter. She’s a wonderful cook, an amazing mom, and an awesome “Bepa” (as her grandkids call her). I LOVE YOU KATHY!!

I hated to brag. But I did it anyhow.

Anyhow…

Speaking of Mexican shredded chicken….

One of my favorite things about this Slow-Cooker Mexican Shredded Chicken recipe is that you use frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts for it. That’s right. FROZEN!!

Perhaps you, like me, often want to make something with chicken but you forget to defrost the chicken, so you have to go with a plan B. I hate waiting for things to defrost. Well, this chicken does NOT have to be defrosted ahead of time. Woo! Woo! Great news for when you forget to plan ahead. You can pop everything into a slow-cooker in the afternoon or morning and you’ll have dinner pretty much ready to go in the evening. Ahhh…. a lovely thought. Or maybe I’m the only one with frozen chicken troubles. This recipe was born out of these troubles. I had no time for defrosting. So into the crockpot they went! 5 hours later… dinner. And not just any dinner. A seriously delicious dinner.

Slow-Cooker Mexican Shredded Chicken | Cinco de Mayo Recipes | ApplestoZiti.com Slow-Cooker Mexican Shredded Chicken | Cinco de Mayo Recipes | ApplestoZiti.com Slow-Cooker Mexican Shredded Chicken | Cinco de Mayo Recipes | ApplestoZiti.com

You can use the shredded chicken to make burritos like I did, or you can make tacos (crunchy or soft), fajitas, burrito bowls, or nachos!

Versatile! Right?

Plus, the chicken is NOT spicy… which is GREAT for little ones. Or for you if you’re not into spicy. Nonetheless, if you’re like me, you’ll serve the NON-spicy version to your kiddos and then pile on the hot sauce for yourself. But that’s your call.

Click HERE for the recipe!

Happy (belated) Cinco de Mayo to ya! And Happy Birthday week Kathy!!

love, Jenna

3 thoughts on “Slow-Cooker Mexican Shredded Chicken

  1. WELL YOUR GRANDPARENTS (PHILIP AND NANCY) THINK YOU ARE PRETTY SPECIAL ALSO. THAT IS BECAUSE YOU ARE !! BESIDES BEING SUPER WOMAN, YOU ARE SUPER WIFE, SUPER MOM, SUPER DAUGHTER AND DAUGHTER-IN-LAW AND GRANDDAUGHTER. LOTS TO LIVE UP TO, I KNOW, BUT THE TRUTH, NEVERTHELESS. LOVE, GRANDMA (AND THANKS FOR SHARING THE LITTLE ONES)

  2. AWWwww — I just found this today . And once again , you got me all choked up – – With JOY!you write SO beautifully, Dear Jenna – – and may I say “Ditto” to Nancy’s comment above! You are a very special young woman and I am just SO happy that You and my Also dear David , found each other! Haven’t quite digested the recipe featured, but I just put my crockpot away from making chicken soup – – and thought to myself I should find some more recipes for it! (I made chicken soup and stored 5 containers in the freezer for easy lunches. (I’m feeling brilliant – ha ha! me who never cooked my own dinner for 60 years) I Don’t know how you “do it all” – – you are special!

  3. Pingback: Family Friday: A New Development | Apples to Ziti

I'd love to hear from you! Keep the comments coming.

